Share On:

Polk County flooding victims might qualify for temporary property tax exemptions for a portion of the property's appraised value, from the loss date to the end of this year. Other individuals and businesses who suffered property damage from recent flooding might be eligible for property tax exemptions depending on their county and the extent of the damage. If you live in another affected county, contact your appraisal district to see if you qualify.

This KTRE article has additional information regarding Polk County flooding victims. 

Exerpt from the Polk County Appraisal District:

Texas Property Tax Code section 11.35 allows a qualified property that is at least 15 percent damaged by a disaster in a governor-declared disaster area to receive a temporary exemption of a portion of the property's appraised value. A property owner must apply for the temporary exemption no later than 105 days after the governor declares a disaster area. Qualified property includes:

  • Tangible personal property used for income production
  • Improvements to real property
  • Certain manufactured homes

On April 30 Polk County was included in a governor declared disaster. Exemption applications can be found through the link below or can be picked up at the PCAD office located at 114 Mathews. Please include with your application documentation as to the amount of damage incurred. Applications must be turned in by August 13, 2024. Please also include all current contact information, especially a current mailing address, as you will be notified in writing of your determined damage assessment rating. Applications may be emailed to or mailed to 114 Mathews, Livingston, TX 77351.

Form to file for the exemption from Polk County.

Let's Talk

We’re here to help you and answer your questions.

Contact Us