Share On:

Numerous Texans have been profoundly impacted after the extreme storms and flooding that began on April 26. Governor Greg Abbot is seeking assistance for the reconstruction and restoration efforts in the Texas counties affected by these storms. Governor Abbot has requested a Major Disaster Declaration for all qualified counties, where 26 designated counties have funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance program. This funding will assist with expenses from these disastrous storms, such as temporary housing, emergency home repairs, and disaster unemployment. On May 17, President Joe Biden offered approval for seven counties to apply for funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Individual Assistance Program. The seven counties approved for Individual Assistance programs include Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, and Walker counties.

This approval also grants additional FEMA Hazard Mitigation Grant Program resources statewide. It authorizes the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Loan Program for economic and physical losses in approved counties.

On May 19, Governor Abbott directed the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) to request additional counties be eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance Program funding. The eight additional counties seeking approval are Calhoun, Eastland, Guadalupe, Hardin, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, and Waller. Governor Abbott continues to support his state as we patiently wait for the requested counties to be approved for funding. Despite the recent adversity, Texans are proving their strength and resilience as they push forward to rebuild what was lost.

Click here to view the Governor's initial May 17, 2024 press release.

To read the follow-up press release from May 19, you can click here.

View KTRE's local coverage for information on assistance.

Let's Talk

We’re here to help you and answer your questions.

Contact Us